Full Council Meeting – 24 September 2026
Notice of Mudford Parish Council Meeting
Dear Councillors,
You are hereby summoned to attend the following:
Meeting of: Mudford Parish Council
Time: 19:00
Date: Thursday 24th September 2026
Venue: Mudford Village Hall, BA21 5TE
Petra Galloway
Parish Clerk
18th September 2026
The following members of Mudford Parish Council are summoned to attend:
J. Dalton-Leggett (Chairman), R. Bowring, D. Brown, P. Blackwood, P. Edgeworth, S. Bartlett and J. Snell.
Equality Act 2010
Members are reminded that the Council has a general duty to consider the following matters in the exercise of any of its functions: Equal Opportunities (race, gender, sexual orientation, marital status, and any disability), Gender Equality, Crime & Disorder, Biodiversity, Health & Safety and Human Rights.
Recording of Council Meetings
The Local Audit and Accountability Act 2014 allows both the public and press to take photographs, film and audio record the proceedings and report on all public meetings (including on social media).
Any member of the public wishing to record or film proceedings must let the Chairman of the meeting know prior to, or at the start of, the meeting and the recording must be overt (i.e., clearly visible to anyone at the meeting), but non-disruptive. This permission does not extend to private meetings or parts of meetings which are not open to the public.
Members of the Public and Press are invited to attend all Council Meetings (Public Bodies (Admission to Meetings) Act 1960).
Mudford Parish Council will be discussing all the items listed below:
The agenda specifies the business that it is proposed to transact (Local Government Act 1972 Sch 12, para 10 (2)(b)) and the Council cannot lawfully decide any matter which is not specified in the agenda (Longfield Parish Council v Wright (1918) 88 LJ Ch 119).
AGENDA
26/211 To receive and consider apologies for absence and approve the reasons (LGA 1972 s 85(1)).
26/212 To receive Declarations of Interests. Council members to declare any interests, including any Disclosable Pecuniary Interests, they may have in agenda items that accord with the requirements of the Parish Council’s Code of Conduct, and to consider any prior requests from members for Dispensations that accord with Localism Act 2011 s 33 (b-e). (NB this does not preclude any later declarations).
26/213 To receive Public Comments.
This section is at the Chairman’s discretion and may last up to 15 minutes.
26/214 To receive outside reports from Representatives.
- Somerset Councillors (3 minutes)
- Outside bodies/groups (3 minutes)
26/215 To receive an update on matters arising from previous meetings and to review the action list:
- Withy Bed land registration (Clerk)
- A359 path to Hales Meadow (Clerk)
- Cemetery Chapel quotes (Clerk)
- Permissive paths (Clerk)
- Thorney Lane (Cllr Bartlett)
- Stroke services update (Clerk)
- 25/01367/S73 complaint (Clerk)
26/216 Planning:
- To receive a report on planning decisions:
No planning decisions were made in September. - To receive a report on planning decisions made after the agenda was published on 18th September 2026.
- To note planning applications:
26/01772/COL; West Farm, West Mudford Road, Mudford, Yeovil.
26/02079/COL; West Farm, West Mudford Road, Mudford, Yeovil. - To consider commenting on planning applications, applications for the discharge of conditions, and any amendments or new submissions to applications previously discussed (including applications outside of the parish boundary), received on or after 18th September 2026, including any delegations to the clerk as required.
26/217 FINANCE: To approve the Cashbook/Bank Reconciliation to 31st August 2026 (Appendix 1).
26/218 FINANCE:
- To note payments made in September under the delegated authority of the Clerk/RFO.
| Invoice | Payee | Particulars | Amount | Date of payment |
| 1 | Mudford Village Hall | 01.10. booking | £10.00 | 17.09.2026 |
| 2 | PKF Littlejohn LLP | External audit SB20262243 | £378.00 | 17.09.2026 |
- To note the receipts from 20.08.2026 to 18.09.2026.
| Date | Particulars | Amount | Notes |
| 02.09.2026 | Harold F Miles – interment fee | £250.00 | Interment T19 |
| 08.09.2026 | Somerset Council – SC-SPT 100490291-5 | £27,541.00 | 50% of precept (total precept now received) |
| 15.09.2026 | HMRC VTR – XTV126000103114 | £5,979.30 | VAT return March 26 – August 26 |
- To note direct debit transactions.
| Date | Particulars | Amount | Notes |
| 01.09.2026 | Scribe | £44.40 | Monthly fee |
| 01.09.2026 | Lloyds Bank | £3.00 | Purchasing card monthly fee |
- To note the corporate purchasing card transactions.
| Date | Particulars | Amount | Notes |
| TBC | Card statement not yet received |
- To note an internal virement of £20,000 from the Unity Trust Bank Current Account to the Instant Access Account made on 9th September 2026.
26/219 FINANCE:
- To approve the payment schedule for September and any invoices received after 18th September 2026.
| Invoice | Payee | Particulars | Amount | Notes |
| 1 | Staff | Salary September | XXXX | |
| 2 | Staff | Allowance (Expenses) September | £41.00 | |
| 3 | HMRC | 794PL00149285 mo 06 | £70.11 | |
| 4 | Halcyon Landscapes | Grounds Maintenance Inv 6926 | £440.23 | Regular payment |
| 5 | P D Sargent | Cemetery Maintenance Inv 23-17 | £70.50 |
- To approve an internal transfer of £3,000 from Unity Trust Bank Instant Access account to Unity Trust Bank Current Account.
- To approve a transfer of £10,000 from Unity Trust Bank Current Account to Redwood Bank’s 35 Day Notice account.
26/220 FINANCE: To review the Hall Hire budget (Admin)
To review the Hall Hire budget (Admin), noting that expenditure is expected to exceed the current budget provision due to a higher than anticipated number of council meetings during the financial year, and to agree that the clerk be authorised under delegated powers to continue booking the hall as required for council meetings and council business. To agree that any overspend at the end of the financial year shall be met from the council’s General Reserves.
26/221 To note that the Annual External Audit for FY 2025-2026 has been completed, receive the external auditor’s limited assurance opinion, and note that no issues were raised. To note that the Notice of Conclusion of Audit will be publicised by the clerk on 25th September and agree the notice will be published for a period of one month.
26/222 To agree and adopt Audit Findings Action plan template.
26/223 Annual Playground Inspection Report
To receive and consider the Annual Playground Inspection Report and to agree any actions arising from the report, including the prioritisation of maintenance, repairs, or other remedial works as required.
26/224 To review, amend and adopt the Publication Scheme.
26/225 To agree and adopt Meeting Attendance policy.
26/226 To agree the date of the Governance and Resources Committee meeting.
26/227 To consider SAPPP consultation
To consider the consultation issued by the Smaller Authorities Proper Practices Panel (SAPPP) on the proposed new framework of proper practices for Category 2 Authorities in England, and to agree the council’s response, or agree to delegate authority to the clerk to submit a response on behalf of the council.
26/228 To discuss the future accessibility of the footpath north of the River Yeo Bridge on the A359, towards Snake Island and Trent.
26/229 To receive Councillor reports[1].
26/230 To receive the Parish Clerk’s report and any correspondence.
- 26/00478/DOC1; Manor Farm, Ashington Lane, Chilton Cantelo
- ICO training – 1st October 2026
- Interment T19
- VAT return for period of March 26 – August 26 completed
Correspondence:
NALC’s events newsletter, SALC’s newsletter
Network Rail Biodiversity Stakeholder Survey
CPRE – The Big Conversation event
SAPPP Consultation
Citizens Advice – Heating oil at risk of running out?
Stakeholder Briefing – New stroke services launching in Somerset and Dorset
26/231 To receive the traffic report from Vehicle Activated Devices.
26/232 To receive a report from Somerset Council on road repairs.
26/233 To receive the play area and skate park inspection reports.
26/234 Items for the October’s meeting agenda:
- Draft Salary budget
- Cemetery Chapel Quotes
26/235 To confirm the date of the next meetings – 29th September 2026 at 19:00 (Community Plan) and 29th October 2026 at Mudford Village Hall, BA21 5TE.
26/236 Exempt Session – Exclusion of the Press & Public.
The council is recommended to resolve that under section 1, paragraph 2 of The Public Bodies (Admission to Meetings) Act 1960, the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business because publicity would be prejudicial to the public interest by reason of the confidential nature of the business to be transacted.
26/237 Review of Cemetery Contractor Contract
To review the Cemetery Contractor’s contract and current arrangements, and to consider and approve any changes to the contract terms, responsibilities and remuneration within a new contract.
26/238 To receive and consider privileged and confidential correspondence, and to agree the response and any further actions.
26/239 Clerk’s Salary (CiLCA Qualification and NJC Pay Award)
- To note that the clerk has successfully completed the Certificate in Local Council Administration (CiLCA) qualification.
- To receive details of the National Joint Council (NJC) agreed pay award and agree its application to the clerk’s salary, including implementation from 1st April 2026.
- To consider and approve any changes to the clerk’s salary and contractual terms resulting from the successful completion of the CiLCA qualification and the NJC agreed pay award, and to approve any amendments to the contract of employment.
End of Agenda
[1] N.B Councils cannot lawfully decide items of business that is not specified in the summons/agenda (LGA 1972 Sch 12, paras 10(2)(b) and Longfield Parish Council v Wright (1918) 88 LJ Ch 119).